Skip to main content

October 2022


DC Externship Program Celebrates 10 Years

Laura Kate Smith (‘23), Meredith Moore (‘23), Andrew Blakeselee (‘22), Analeigh Barnes (‘22), Megan Walsh (‘12) Director of DC Externships, Cameron Dobbs (‘23), and Amani Moore (‘23) pose for a photo at the Dean’s Reception at the City Club on March 1, 2022

In 2012, Mike House (’71) and Ed Rogers (’84) had a goal of creating an externship program to introduce Alabama Law students to career opportunities in Washington DC. Ten years later, through the leadership and support of many dedicated alumni, Alabama Law’s DC Externship Program has placed more than 70 students in over 43 different agencies, committees, or advocacy group offices across DC.  Read the full story here. 

Homecoming at Alabama Law

Homecoming at Alabama Law 2022

On October 22, Alabama Law hosted its annual Alumni Homecoming Tailgate on the front lawn of the Law School. Attendees enjoyed delectable food and drink while connecting with old friends before catching a golf cart to the stadium for the Homecoming game. The theme of this year’s Tailgate was centered on The 50 | 150 Anniversaries—commemorating the 150th Anniversary of the Law School’s founding and the 50th anniversary of the first Commencement of African American students from the School of Law. View images from this event here.

Alabama Law Constitutional Ethnography Symposium Draws Notable Academics from Across the Country

Panel at the Constitutional Ethnography Symposium at The University of Alabama School of Law

On October 14, Alabama Law hosted a Symposium on Constitutional Ethnography. The Symposium, organized by Professor Deepa Das Acevedo, brought together prominent anthropologists and scholars of law and law & society to discuss the potential benefits, challenges, and approaches to studying constitutional law from the perspective of persons, institutions, and cultures affected by the law. The keynote address was given by Kim Lane Scheppele of Princeton University. Other panelists included professors from the University of Chicago, University of Virginia, University of California-Berkeley, University of Southern California, and the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill among many other institutions. View pictures from this event here.

Class Notes

Alvin K. Hope II (‘97) was reappointed to the Alabama Trust Fund board of directors by Governor Kay Ivey. 

Lawrence “Trey” H. Bundrick III (’19) joined Lightfoot Franklin & White LLC in Birmingham as an Associate. 

James F. Hughey III (‘98) was named a member of Leadership Alabama’s 2022-2023 class. 

Richard A. Barth (‘89) was named Director of Undergraduate Admissions at Clemson University. 

Clint Brown (’14) joined The Heritage Foundation as the Vice President of Government Relations. 

Keith A. Brown (‘94) was named to Birmingham Business Journal’s 2022 Who’s Who in Education list. 

Noah A. Caldwell (’20) joined Swift Currie in Atlanta as an Associate Attorney. 

Sue Bell Cobb (’81) was inducted into the Alabama Academy of Honor Class of 2022.

Camille Wright Cook (’48) has been posthumously inducted into the Tuscaloosa County Civic Hall of Fame.

Rochelle A. Conley (’06) was named Chief Legal Officer of Alabama A&M University in Huntsville. 

Leigh Davis (’97) was named to Top Birmingham Women 2022 by the Birmingham Business Journal.

Emily Ellis (’22) joined Dentons Sirote in Birmingham as an Associate Attorney.

Jonathan Hardage (’03) received the 2021 Louis Dellamonica Award for Outstanding U.S. Army Materiel Command Personnel of the Year. 

Haley Hogue (’22) joined Dentons Sirote in Birmingham as an Associate Attorney.

Sarah A. Hughes (’13) joined Bressler Amery & Ross in Birmingham as an Associate Attorney. 

Vanessa Leonard (‘95) received the 2022 Yellowhammer Women of Impact Award. 

Ashley C. Marshall (’03) was sworn in as the City Prosecutor of Enterprise, AL.

Rebecca H. McNabb (’21) was promoted to Vice President and Trust Officer with Magnolia Trust Company in Chattanooga, Tennessee. 

Richard A. Powers (’09) joined Fried Frank in New York City as a partner in the Antitrust Litigation Practice. 

Benjamin Smelcer (’07 LL.M.) rejoined Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP as a special counsel in Atlanta.

Tamara Fox Rose (’14) was promoted to Of Counsel with Stevens & Lee in Reading, PA. 

Solly Thomas (’22) joined Lightfoot Franklin & White, LLC in Birmingham as an Associate Attorney. 

Morgan B. Thompson (’19) joined Bressler Amery & Ross in Birmingham as an Associate Attorney. 

Charles S. Todd (’08) was named a member of Leadership Alabama’s 2022-2023 class. 

Hunter Windham (’20) joined Turner Padget’s Insurance Litigation practice group in Charleston. 


Andrew P. Campbell (’78) contributed $5,000 to support the School of Law.

Stanley Cash (’72) pledged $50,000 to establish The Stanley A. Cash Endowed Law Scholarship.

The Estate of Donald M. Phillips (’75) contributed $5,000 to support the School of Law.

M. Wayne Wheeler (’66) contributed $100,000 to the Judge Robert J. Wheeler Endowed Scholarship Fund.

Faculty Notes

Professor Deepa Das Acevedo presented her forthcoming article, Tenure as a Labor Protection, at the 2022 Colloquium on Scholarship in Employment and Labor Law (COSELL), held at Vanderbilt Law School on October 21-22.

Professor John Felipe Acevedo was named a contributing editor of the National Lawyers Guild Review. On October 15, he served as a discussant for the Law, Crime, and Punishment panel at the New Directions in Law and Society conference held at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Professor John Shahar Dillbary’s article, On Sinners and Scapegoats: The Economics of Collective Punishment (co-authored with Tom Miceli), will be published as the lead article in volume 100 of the Washington University Law Review (forthcoming 2023). He also recently presented his tort, environmental law, and anti-discrimination scholarship at the European Law and Economics Conference, at an Indiana Law Faculty Workshop, and at the Society for Environmental Law and Economics. He has been invited to present his experimental scholarship at the Max Planck Institute for Research on Collective Goods (Germany).  Additionally, Professor Dillbary is scheduled to present his empirical and theoretical works at the Southern Economic Association and the French Law and Economics Association.

Professor Fredrick Vars recently placed an article with Texas A&M Law Review, Time to Heal: Trauma’s Impact on Rape & Sexual Assault Statutes of Limitations (co-authored with Alabama Law 3L Jillian Miller Purdue), and a review of the book The Criminal Legal System Doesn’t Care About Your Mental Illness with Cardozo Law Review De Novo.