Alabama Law Students Compete in Final Round of Campbell Moot Court Competition

March 29, 2018

Tyler Foster, Brenton Smith, Laura Stephenson, and Kory Queen, all 2Ls, competed in the final round of the John A. Campbell Moot Court Competition on Wednesday, March 28. These two teams were the last standing in a competitive field of 32 teams.

A distinguished panel served as judges for the final round. They were: The Honorable Carlos F. Lucero, United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit; The Honorable Dennis W. Shedd, United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit; and The Honorable Madeline Hughes Haikala, United States District Court for the Northern District of Alabama.

Stephenson and Queen were the winning team, and Stephenson won the Reuben H. Wright Award for best advocate. Cortlin Bond and Morgan Thompson Shelton, also 2Ls, won the Walter P. Gewin Award for best brief.