Law School, ABA Journal Announce Harper Lee Prize Finalists

May 29, 2014

The University of Alabama School of Law and the ABA Journal have named the finalists for the 2014 Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction. The three books chosen to compete for the prize are: “Once We Were Brothers” by Ronald H. Balson, “Sycamore Row” by John Grisham, and “The Burgess Boys” by Elizabeth Strout. The prize, authorized by Harper Lee, is given annually to a book-length work of fiction that best illuminates the role of lawyers in society and their power to effect change.

The public is invited to cast its votes on the ABA Journal website [] to help determine who the winning finalist will be. The public will act as the sixth judge, contributing a vote equal in weight to the selection committee members. The 2014 prize will be awarded in Washington, D.C. on Aug. 28, in conjunction with the Library of Congress National Book Festival. The winner will be announced during the ceremony, which will take place in the Madison Building of the Library of Congress starting at 5 p.m. The winning author will receive a copy of “To Kill a Mockingbird” signed by Harper Lee. To vote, visit