Skip to main content

February 2023


Alabama Law Ranked Top 10 for Federal Clerkships

Alabama Law ranks in the top 10 for Federal Clerkship Placements among all US law schools.

The Princeton Review ranked the University of Alabama School of Law #9 among all U.S. law schools for federal clerkship placements. Of the 10 schools named “Best for Federal Clerkships” in the 2023 Law School Rankings, Alabama Law ranked third among public institutions.

First African American Graduates at Alabama Law

Michael Anthony Figures, Booker T. Forte, and Ronald E. Jackson were the first African American students to graduate from the University of Alabama School of Law in 1972.

In 1972, Michael Anthony Figures, Booker Forte, Jr., and Ronald E. Jackson became the first Black students to receive a degree from The University of Alabama School of Law. Previously, no law school in the state of Alabama—including the University of Alabama—would accept African American students. In fact, for a time, the State would provide funding for Black students to study law elsewhere. Learn more about each of these three graduates here.

New Dean Search: Share Your Insights

University of Alabama School of Law back patio

After Dean Brandon announced that he will step down as dean at the end of this academic year, the University announced a search for his successor. As a valued Alabama Law alum, your input in this process is important to the Search Committee. Please complete this survey to provide insights about your priorities for the next dean.

Class Notes

Joseph Aguirre (‘15) was promoted to senior counsel at Wood, Smith, Henning, & Berman in Mobile.

Jessica Allain (‘15) was promoted to partner at Jones Walker LLP in Lafayette, Louisiana.

Brig. Gen. Richard Allen (‘73) published an article titled The Cold War Was Just That in ARMY Magazine.

Julian Bibb IV (‘15) was promoted to partner at Waller Lansden Dortch & Davis, LLP in Nashville.

Emily B. Bruno (‘11) was named Chief Legislative Analyst for the Florida Senate Minority Office.

Ann Louise Brown Cauble (‘13) was promoted to shareholder with Ogletree Deakins in Greenville, South Carolina.

Lieselotte M. Carmen-Burks (‘17) joined Butler Snow’s Nashville office as an Associate.

Gregory S. Curran (‘89) was named chairman of the Birmingham Business Alliance for a second year.

Michael E. Hollingsworth II (‘99) was listed among Atlanta Magazine’s 500 Most Powerful Leaders in 2023.

Johnjerica Hodge (‘13) was selected to lead as a co-chair of the ESG risk and investigations practice at Katten Law Firm.

Harold D. Mooty, III (‘08) was appointed to a two-year term on the Alabama Access to Justice Commission by the Supreme Court of Alabama.

William Steven Nichols (‘08) was named to the board of directors of the Birmingham Business Alliance.

Charles Powell (‘92) was appointed as an office managing shareholder at the Littler Mendelson, P.C. in Birmingham.

Dylan Reeves (‘09) joined Stites & Harbinson in Nashville as a member of the firm.

Jennifer Marshall Roden (‘12) was promoted to partner at Craig & Fox, PLLC in Wilmington, North Carolina.

India D. Williams (‘12) was selected as co-chair of the ESG Risk and Investigations practice at Katten Law Firm.



Attorneys Information Exchange Group, Inc. contributed $5,000 to the Francis (Brother) Hare Award for Excellence in Civil Trial Advocacy.

Travis M. Bedsole, Jr. (‘74) contributed $11,954 to the Judge Travis Jessie Bedsole (1909) Endowed Memorial Scholarship Fund.

Laura L. Crum (‘82) committed a planned gift and contributed $8,897.50 to the Crum Family Endowed Lecture for Law and Business.

The Michael D. Ermert (90) Estate contributed $100,000 to the Michael and Lori Emert Endowed Scholarship.

James Timothy Francis (‘84) pledged $34,750 to the James Timothy Francis Endowed Scholarship.

John Hollis Jackson, Jr. (‘66) and Rebecca M. Jackson contributed $57,425 to the John Hollis Jackson, Jr. and Rebecca M. Jackson Endowed Scholarship Fund.

Nuclear Electric Insurance LTD, on behalf of Mark Crosswhite (‘87), contributed a matching gift of $5,000 to the Law School Foundation Unrestricted Fund.

The Vulcan Materials Company Foundation, on behalf of Norman Jetmundsen (‘79), contributed a matching gift of $6,000 to the Class of 1979 in Memoriam Endowed Scholarship and the Gordon Rosen Endowed Professorship of Law and Scholarship of Law.

Correction: Last month, this newsletter incorrectly listed Sherri Tucker Freeman’s (‘88) gift. The correct pledge was $36,008.18 to the Michael David Freeman (‘88) and Sherri Tucker Freeman Endowed Scholarship.

Faculty Notes

Professor Deepa Das Acevedo‘s article The Past as a Colonialist Resource has been accepted for publication in Volume 73 of the Duke Law Journal. The article uses insights from Anthropology to both explain and critique Originalist interpretation.

Professor John Shahar Dillbary recently presented his tort, environmental law and anti-discrimination scholarship at the Max Planck Institute for Research on Collective Goods (Germany).  Professor Dillbary is scheduled to present his empirical and theoretical works at Northwestern University School of Law and the Society for Environmental Law and Economics.

On February 8, 2023, Professor Heather Elliott participated in an online panel sponsored by the Federal Communications Bar Association. The panel, “Recent Developments in Administrative Law for the Telecommunications Industry,” covered issues in Article III standing doctrine and judicial deference under Chevron. Other speakers included Joseph Palmore, managing partner of the DC office of Morrison & Foerster LLP and Tejas N. Narechania, the Robert and Nanci Corson Assistant Professor of Law at the University of California, Berkeley, School of Law.

On February 10, 2023, Professor Ronald Krotoszynski, Jr. presented “Constitutional Privacy and the Problem of State Action” on a panel considering “Data Privacy and Individual Rights” at the 2023 Technology, Media, and Privacy Law conference hosted by the University of Florida Levin College of Law, in Gainesville, Florida.  On January 30, 2023, he presented “Reimagining First Amendment Remedies” at a faculty workshop hosted by the law faculty at the UNLV Boyd School of Law, in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Professor Shalini Ray published an essay in the Georgia Law Review for its 2022 symposium on “Immigrants and the First Amendment.” Her essay, “The Contested ‘Bright Line’ of Territorial Presence,” is available here.

Professor Adam Steinman published his article, Beyond Bristol-Myers: Personal Jurisdiction over Class Actions in the N.Y.U. Law Review. He also published his casebook, Civil Procedure: Cases and Materials (13th edition) (with Jack Friedenthal, Arthur Miller, John Sexton, Helen Hershkoff & Troy A. McKenzie). In addition, Steinman joined two U.S. Supreme Court amicus curiae briefs: Arizona v. Mayorkas, Brief of Scholars of Federal Civil Procedure in Support of Respondents; and Douglass v. Nippon Yusen Kabushiki Kaisha, Brief of Civil Procedure Professors in Support of Petitioners.

Professor Joyce Vance served as a guest multiple times on MSNBC throughout the month of February, including her segment, Why the DOJ’s response to Tyre Nicols’ brutal killing matters. She also released a new podcast, Trump in Civil Trouble, on Café.