Alabama Law Alumni, Students Win Alabama State Bar Association Awards

July 2, 2018

Alabama Alumni and students recently were presented with awards for their service to the legal profession during the 2018 Alabama State Bar Annual Meeting in Sandestin, Florida

Alabama Law recipients were:

Billy C. Bedsole (’61) received the J. Anthony “Tony” McLain Professionalism Award. The award recognizes members for distinguished service in the advancement of professionalism.

Katherine R. Brown (’05) and Jeanne Dowdle Rasco (’89) received the President’s Award in Recognition of Exemplary Service to the Profession.

Penny Davis (’78) received the Supreme Court of Alabama Lifetime Service Award. The award recognizes a lawyer for his or her outstanding service to the legal profession and the citizenry of Alabama.

Judge Harold V. Hughston, Jr. (‘79) received the Judicial Award of Merit. The award is presented to a judge who is determined to have contributed significantly to the administration of justice in Alabama.

Lea Luterstein (2L) received the Law Student Award for taking every opportunity to participate in public service and pro bono activities during her first two years in law school and logging more than 280 hours of service.

Thomas A. Nettles, IV (’79) received the Walter R. Gewin Award. The award honors lawyers and professors whose outstanding service provides the best possible continuing legal education.

Jean M. Powers (’90) received the Local Bar Achievement Award. The award recognizes local bar associations for their outstanding contributions to their community judged by the quality and extent of programs, level of participation of the bar, and overall impact of the programs on its citizens.

Alex Priester (2L) received the Justice Janie L. Shores Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded to an outstanding woman who is an Alabama resident attending law school in Alabama.

Alyce Manley Spruell (‘83) received the Maud McLure Kelly Award. The award is named in honor of the first woman admitted to the practice of law in Alabama

James O. Standridge (’77) received the Jeanne Marie Leslie Service Award. The award recognizes exemplary service to lawyers in need in the areas of substance abuse and mental health.