Skip to main content

Law School Announces Call for Entries for 2016 Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction

January 5, 2016


The University of Alabama School of Law is pleased to announce the official call for entries for the 2016 Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction.

The Prize, authorized by Ms. Lee, is given annually to a book-length work of fiction, published in the preceding year, that best illuminates the role of lawyers in society and their power to effect change.  Past winners include Havana Requiem by Paul Goldstein, Sycamore Row by John Grisham, and The Secret of Magic by Deborah Johnson.

The work must be:

  • A published book-length work of fiction.
  • Published originally in 2015.
  • Readily available to readers via commercial sources (retail or online bookstores such as Barnes & Noble, Amazon, or iTunes).
  • An electronically published work with an ISBN may be submitted but unpublished manuscripts may not.

The deadline for nominations is March 31. There is no entry fee.

The winning title will be honored at a ceremony and panel discussion, and the winner will receive a special edition of To Kill a Mockingbird, signed by Ms. Lee.

Visit for more information.

The University of Alabama School of Law strives to remain neutral on issues of public policy. The Law School’s communications team may facilitate interviews or share opinions expressed by faculty, staff, students, or other individuals regarding policy matters. However, those opinions do not necessarily reflect the views of the Law School, the University, or affiliated leadership.