Alabama Law Announces Call for Entries for 2018 Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction

January 8, 2018

The University of Alabama School of Law and the ABA Journal are now accepting submissions for the 2018 Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction.

The Prize, authorized by Ms. Lee, is given annually to a book-length work of fiction that best illuminates the role of lawyers in society and their power to effect change.  Past winners include “Gone Again” by James Grippando,  “Pleasantville” by Attica Lock, and “The Secret of Magic” by Deborah Johnson.

The work must be:

  • A published book-length work of fiction.
  • Published originally in 2017.
  • Readily available to readers via commercial sources (retail or online bookstores such as Barnes & Noble, Amazon, or iTunes).

An electronically published work with an ISBN may be submitted but unpublished manuscripts may not. All entries must be submitted by Friday, March 31, 2018. There is no entry fee.

The winning title will be honored at a ceremony and panel discussion, and the winner will receive a signed special edition of “To Kill a Mockingbird.”

For more information, visit